Pro Mod Results, Pro Modified, Pro Modified News, Extreme Outlaw Pro Mod, PDRA



With the 20th anniversary of the Big Dog Shootout being celebrated over this July 4th weekend, the much anticipated Power Jam was completed on Saturday at historic Piedmont Dragway; “The Doorslammer Capital of the World”. The track, in continuous operation since 1957, did not disappoint as drivers in the Big Dog Shootout and in the combo event, Extreme Oulaw Pro Mod Association took a shot at the track with hot, slick conditions prevalent on this day. When the dust settled, it was last month’s winner, Ronnie Gardner, in the Jack Gaddy Camaro on the pole in Big Dog and second generation driver, Ty Tutterow, on the pole for the EOPM part of the event.


That said, in Big Dog, the qualifiers were chasing Gardner’s 4.08 to #8, Marvin Graham. Tim Siler came in at #2 with Charles Richards at #3, and John Lassiter #4. Other competitors included Larry Pearce, a winner already this year, Cam Clark, and Tim Lawrence. Breakage advanced Lassiter and Siler to the semis with John Lassiter using a 4.10 to go to the finals. Charles Richards Jr. ran a 4.08 to advance on the other side. In the final, Charles Richards Jr. defeated John Lassiter by a whopping .0006 margin of victory. When Lassiter and partner, Jeff Miller, get the bugs out, LOOK OUT.


In the Extreme Outlaw Pro Mod portion of the program, Jamie Chappell was #1 qualifier until the second round when Ty Tutterow rolled to the line and used dad, Todd’s tune up to go to the pole with a 3.845 ET. Ty also added top MPH at 196.42. Others in the field included Brian Schrader, Robbie Keziah, Jamie Chappell, Chris Patrick, with tuning help from Jay Cox, Tommy Mauney, Derrick Brown, in the ex-Victor Cagnazzi Pro Stock, and Randy Weatherford. The semis were as follows: Tutterow ran another 3.84 to defeat Chappell, and Robbie Keziah advanced over Brian Shchrader. This set the final with young Mr. Tutterow saving the best for last and laying down a 3.83 to defeat Keziah’s 3.95. Congratulations to the whole Tutterow gang for Ty’s first, and surely not his last.


Celebrating the 20th anniversary were such drivers as Terry Brackett, first in the 4 second range with a 3000 lb. Camaro with Fulton 632 power, Buzz Varner, Morris Mitchell, Rocky Raynor, Rick Moore, Todd Tutterow, Michale “Golfball” Godfrey, Matt Giangrande, Bubba Turner, Randy Weatherford, Joel Douglas, Ronnie Gardner, John Lassiter, Travis Harvey, Jack Gaddy, Andy Beal, Jamie Chappell, Charles Richards Jr. All in all, over 30 drivers came out to be recognized along with the founder of the “Longest Running Single Track Series in the Country”, Mr. Jim Turner. If you weren’t there, you were missed, and please come to any upcoming event that you may be able to attend.


Other winners, for the day included: Willie Morgan defeating Kyle Shipmon in 7.49 Real Street, Bobby McMasters defeating Ray Anderson in 6.00 Raiders, and Travis Harvey, Yes that Travis Harvey, defeating David Rice in Outlaw Door Slammer. Also on had were the Gibbs Racing 4.70 Extreme DoorSlammers with John Smith defeating Tommy Luther.


All in all, a great day and a great opportunity to be part of history. Make sure to attend the next installment of the Big Dog Shootout at historic Piedmont Dragway.